Garth, that was a haiku…

IMG_1452[1]

 

My man loves to quote that line from Wayne’s World whenever someone says something poignant.  He is the king of adding comic levity to any serious moment.

However, on Twitter the other day someone was running a contest where, if you submit a haiku about virginity, you could win one of their books.  Like I’ve mentioned previously, I have always balked at anything to do with poetry, but I’m slowly coming around.  It is one thing for me to read and enjoy it, but it is a completely other thing for me to attempt to write it, especially something as complicated as a haiku. However, I figured, I love a creative challenge and its such and itty bitty poem—how hard can it be?

Actually, it wasn’t that bad.  My research showed me that a haiku is traditionally made up of 3 lines where the first line has words with 5 syllables, the second has 7 syllables, and the third has 5 again.  However, because haikus were invented by the Japanese and their words and ways of writing are vastly different than our own, modern English haikus are a sometimes a little more lenient on the 5-7-5 rule.

I also found out that most haikus reference nature in some way and have two juxtaposing ideas that are severed by either a cutting word (kireji) in the traditional Japanese style or by punctuation, space, or line break in the English style.

So, in an attempt to combine the two traditions while remaining as faithful as the English language allows I came up with the following haiku on the topic of virginity.

Once dewdrop filled

they are pure white rosebuds

now crushed dreams.

So, I didn’t win, but it was a fun challenge and I’m glad I at least gave it a shot!

Anyone else have a haiku to share?

Leave a Reply

