Stealing Faces

:?:?:?:?:?:?:_ faces_ :?:?:?:?:?:?:

As an author, I often find myself taking people watching to the next level, some people may call it creepy, I call it detailed observance. Unfortunately it tends to make people uncomfortable or get the wrong idea. Especially guys.  Most of them don’t know what to do when a girl looks at them, especially if she does it repeatedly.  I know I’m not gorgeous or the ideal of every man, but I’m not too unfortunate looking, so I often see them squirm under my scrutiny.

Luckily, however, I have found a new source for my observations of the human condition.  Acting!

Yes, I have recently returned to the stage…(twirls mustache, swishes cape)…and with that has come the opportunity for me to stare at people, because I have to.  I often have to do it repeatedly, on stage, and even in conversation. Actors always appreciate an engaged audience, even in everyday conversation.

You may be thinking to yourself, “Pfft, if its actors you want, why not look to tv and movies?”

Weeeeeelllllll, I do that occasionally, but those are the pretty peoples that everyone sees, so if I use them too much its kinda obvious. I do have one actor whom I admire, perhaps a bit too much, and I often sprinkle pieces of him throughout in every book, but otherwise I’d rather use real people. Besides, I’m able to study and use their mannerisms easier than an actor. Cause honestly, how well do we really know our favorite actors?

So, if you are a friend of mine (especially if you are a fellow actor friend) and you see a character in a book that seems suspiciously similar to you in looks or mannerisms…..just know I love you!

(Oh, and only real life villains will be portrayed as such….I’d never, ever do that to a friend!) 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

