My thoughts on The Anglo Files

My thoughts on The Anglo Files

In my last post I mentioned that I was really excited about reading this book, and the minute I got my curious little fingers on it I devoured it.

I’m not usually into non-fiction works, because no matter how interesting they are, or how much I really want to learn about whatever subject they are espousing upon I can’t help but get sleepy reading them. I didn’t have this issue quite as much with Sarah Lyall’s book, and I think it had a lot to do with her voice throughout. She comes across as intelligent, witty, and as a woman who takes life with a grain of salt. I like that about her.

Of course, the subject matter was very fascinating to me. The British. Why am I so fascinated by these people, and why on earth do I always feel as though I should have been born and raised there instead of here? Well, after reading this book I am quite certain that several of my past lives must have been there. I do know that I have British blood in me (thanks Ancestry DNA!)

I’m not going to lie, though, this book was an interesting wake-up call about the people of that great country. Did it pop my romantic little bubble that I view them through? Not entirely. Some of the things she said surprised me (I find their entire culture ironic on so many levels), but in the end I still found them a fascinating lot. Especially when you consider the fact that even though they are a small country, you cannot pin down what makes the Brits, “British.” They are a unique bunch and as multi-faceted as a precious stone. Annnnnnnnndddd, I’m not going to lie, that accent will forever be sexy to me because it always sounds so intellectual. Have you ever noticed how 90% of educational programs have a narrator with a British accent? I rest my case.

So, what is the point of all this? If you want an interesting and funny perspective on the Brits, read Sarah Lyall’s The Anglo Files.

I do wonder, however, what has changed about certain aspects of the culture since the book was published in 2009.

2 thoughts on “My thoughts on The Anglo Files

  1. Going to have to see if the library has that one as an ebook! I’m with you on feeling as though I somehow should have been British!

Leave a Reply

